VINE AND WINE

Bourg de Lamarque

THE VILLAGE OF LAMARQUE

 

OUR ‘TERROIR’ : The commune of Lamarque is noted for its outcrops shaped over the years by the flow of the Garonne river. These outcrops, dating from the last quaternary era cover most of the commune. Only one type of gravel is identifiable in Lamarque :


GRAVES "CLAIRES"  - Light-coloured gravel, composed of  quartz  pebbles and white quartzites with occasional elements of black Lydians.


This ‘type 3’ gravel is modern-day proof of the ancient flow-path of the Garonne river, which went from Bordeaux to the mouth of the estuary. This type of gravel can be found in Arsac, Margaux, Moulis, Cussac …


Some gravelly hillocks are up to 18m high ....


We can also observe a strip of about 700 m of gravel and large brown and ochre pebbles (reaching up to 15-20 cm in diameter).

The vital role of these pebbles, reflecting the sunlight up onto the vines, is well-known.

Thus the gravelly soil of Lamarque, not too rich and well-sloped, favours the ripeness of the grapes. The convex shape of the mounds limits the variations in daily temperatures. Finally, the poor gravelly soils limiting the nutrition of the plants, the roots are forced down deeper into the sub-soil. There, they find the water-tables which ensure the water supply to the plant.

 

The 2005 HARVEST
The harvest takes place at the end of September and the beginning of October when the grapes have reached perfect ripeness, bringing out the best in our terroir. A strict selection is carried out when the grapes arrive in the cellar before vinfication. At each step, all our efforts are made to optimise the quality.

VIGNE & VIN

Bourg de Lamarque

BOURG DE LAMARQUE

NOTRE TERROIR : La commune de Lamarque est dominée par les affleurements des formations fluviales de la Garonne. Ces affleurements, datés du quatarnaire récent, occupent la quasi totalité de la commune. Un seul type de graves peut être défini sur la commune :

GRAVES "CLAIRES" composées de galets de quartz et de quartzites blancs accompagnés de quelques éléments de lydiennes noires.

Ces graves de type 3 correspondent à l'épandage de l'ancien cours garonnais, il correspond dans le temps et sur le Médoc à un tracé bien particulier pouvant être identifié et suivi de Bordeaux à l'embouchure, on le retrouve sur Arsac, Margaux, Moulis, Cussac ...

Sur le terrain, on observe des croupes graveleuses pouvant atteindre 18 m ....

On trouve aussi une bande de terre de 700 m environ de graves et galets bruns et ocres de grosse taille pouvant aller jusqu'à 15 à 20 cm de diamètre.

L'importance de ces galets qui tapissent le sol en reflétant la lumière du soleil, on la connaît.

Grâce à sa pauvreté et à sa disposition en croupes, le sol graveleux de Lamarque favorise un bon mûrissement des raisins, la forme convexe des buttes atténuant les écarts journaliers de températures. Enfin, en limitant les apports nutritifs du fait de leur pauvreté, les graves poussent les racines à s'enfoncer profondément dans le sous-sol. Là elles trouvent des nappes souterraines d'eau qui régularisent l'alimentation hydrique de la plante.

Les vendanges 2005
Les vendanges ont lieu fin septembre - début octobre lorsque les raisins sont à pleine maturité pour optimiser la complexité de notre terroir. Une selection rigoureuse à l'arrivée de la vendange au cuvier vient compléter tous nos efforts dans la recherche de la qualité.