The spirit of wine has been passed down the generations from the great grand-father to Alain.

François Signorait

 

Marie Signorait

Isaure Robin nee Signorait

Aramis Robin

 

Raymonde Roses nee Robin

Marc Roses

 

Bernard Roses

Alain Roses

 

Our Family History:


Château Haut-Bellevue has no grand edifice to show, but simply a charming sandstone house, legacy of the union of the SIGNORET and ROBIN-ROSES families.


The saga of this vineyard began with François SIGNORAIT at the end of the XIXth  century with his one acre of land. Hardly a gold mine – he had to sell his labour on neighbouring farms to survive.


Alain has inherited from his great grand-father, grand-father and also his father, Marc, the frank outlook of those men who know how much they owe to Mother Nature and the terroir of their land. Already, as a teenager, when anyone asked him what he wanted to be when he grew up, he answered, “a wine-grower”. Conscious of his heritage at an early age, he never wished to live anywhere but amongst his own family’s vines. Alain Roses learnt more of growth cycles and the like in the heart of the Médoc vineyards than in text books. After Agricultural College in Blanquefort, the child of the vineyard never felt more in his element than when on the family estate.


His older brother, Bernard, preferred the industrial sector for his career. However there is a ritual that Bernard wouldn’t miss for the world : the Harvest. A moment of  brotherly complicity for both men as they share in the hard work, and the ultimate communion with the fruit of the vines…


In 1986, Alain takes on the management of the vineyard alone. Château Haut-Bellevue is equipped with a new modern vinification cellar and barrel-ageing cellar in 1991. The vines are not neglected however, and certain plots are re-planted. The grape varieties chosen for each plot are modified to bring out the best expression possible of the Lamarque ‘terroir’.


Since the re-classification in June 2003, Château Haut - Bellevue has been awarded the title of Cru Bourgeois.


Alain and his wife, Corinne,  live out their passion for their wine , making it known throughout the world.....

Dans la famille, l'esprit du vin a habité chaque aïeul, de l'arrière grand-père à Alain.

François Signorait

 

Marie Signorait

Isaure Signorait épouse Robin

Aramis Robin

 

Raymonde Robin épouse Roses

Marc Roses

 

Bernard Roses

Alain Roses

Notre histoire :

Le Château Haut-Bellevue n'a certes pas une belle bâtisse au caractère Altier, simplement une maison de pierres, fruit de l'alliance des familles : SIGNORAIT-ROBIN-ROSES.

L'histoire de ce cru commença avec Francois SIGNORAIT à la fin du XIX° siècle, un demi-hectare, "la belle affaire", il fallait vendre ses bras dans les propriétés des communes voisines pour vivre.

C'est à travers plusieurs générations, arrière-grand-père, grand-père mais aussi le père Marc, qu'Alain a appris le regard franc des hommes qui savent ce qu'ils doivent à la terre. Déjà au collège, quand on lui demandait ce qu'il désirait faire dans la vie, il répondait "Viticulteur". Très tôt, il fût conscient de cet héritage, il n'entendait pas vivre ailleurs que dans ses vignes. Les cycles végétatifs, c'est moins dans les manuels qu'au coeur du vignoble médocain qu'Alain Roses les a observé. Après le lycée agricole de Blanquefort, l'enfant des vignes ne s'est jamais mieux émancipé qu'au sein de l'exploitation familiale.

Son frère aîné Bernard a préféré le secteur industriel. Cependant, il est un rite auquel Bernard n'entend pas renoncer : celui des vendanges. Instants de fraternité et d'échanges, d'effort certes car la tâche est rude, mais il n'y a pas meilleure communion avec le fruit de la vigne.

En 1986, Alain reprend seul la conduite du vignoble. Le château Haut-Bellevue s'est doté en 1991 d'installations modernes avec la construction d'un cuvier et chai à barrique. Le vignoble n'est pas oublié, complantation, renouvellement de certaines parcelles, modification de l'encépagement conduisent à optimiser l'expression du terroir de Lamarque.

Depuis le nouveau classement en Juin 2003, le Château Haut - Bellevue est classé Cru Bourgeois.

Alain et sa femme Corinne vivent de leur passion en faisant connaître leur vin à travers le monde .....